Design focus…

DesignFocusOptOne thing I knew from experience is that when riding a bicycle, as opposed to a trials motorbike; I couldn’t rely on a motor to blast me out of a tricky situation with just a flick of the throttle twistgrip. However fast I may ride on the clear trails, when I got myself into various tight spots, my ideal cross-country bicycle design would also have to be very good for balancing, steering and accelerating from an almost stationary position.

It would have to be a versatile machine with supreme capability ranging from high-speed descents to the handling characteristics and manoeuvrability required in conditions that demand careful negotiation; terrain where you can’t gain enough speed or momentum to carry you through.


Posted by slapheadmofo

“I’m sure the bike is fine, it’s got a lot of cool touches that really do make sense for the way he chooses to use it, but to imply that no other bikes can be ridden on crappy terrain, or that anyone that doesn’t choose to use their bike the exact same way is just a pretender? Meh.”


These handling characteristics are determined by a number of design factors and dimensions. In the diagram above I’ve highlighted some dimensions for comparison purposes. The upper bike shown is simply broadly representative of current design, there’s no point in stating how long or short these dimensions are. By looking from one bike to the other, you get a general idea how they differ.


Posted by robdob

“I have ridden one of Geoff’s prototypes and I can tell you it goes uphill like nothing else, it’s just weird how much grip and stability there is, it’s awesome!

I thought it was a bit weird downhill and so I didn’t rate it for that………..until Geoff whizzed past me on a rocky rooty slippery muddy descent like I was standing still. I’m pretty good downhill too, and he’s 35 years older than me!”


Most conventional bicycles are designed on the presumption of a usual speed something between 12 and 25 mph. On any of my off-road rides, some parts of it will be covered at well below 12 mph, especially if I’m tired, or in a lazy mood.


Posted by J.B. Weld

“Not my cup of tea, if I’m traveling at walking speed I’d much rather walk. I do enjoy natural trails (not bike parks) but speed is an essential part of mountain biking for me.”


Obviously, most cyclists want to ride fast all the time, and so will avoid terrain that may force them to slow down, even it this means their choice of route is thus limited; therefore most bicycles on the market are designed to meet that demand. But when the terrain demands a slower approach, or speed is not your desire, you will appreciate why the Landseer is different; its design is optimised towards handling well at very low speeds, in sometimes demanding terrain and awful weather conditions.

But speed and handling characteristics alone do not tell the whole story.

Click here to go to the next page.

Click here to go to the beginning of the whole story.

About gmacleland

Uncool
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Design focus…

  1. Stuart Crawford says:

    Geoff, excellent explanation born out by practice and not theoretical b/s. As I said in another post I have only had the one chance to ride the Aventura and what you have stated is a fact.

  2. Pingback: Repetition makes truth… | Cleland > L A N D S E E R

  3. Pingback: Repetition makes truth… | Cleland > L A N D S E E R

Leave a Reply

