Then in 2009…

AVTT

Now we leap forwards from the 1960s to 2009. If you want to know what happened in-between, you can read all about it on the Cleland website.

During 2009, several particular components became available; it would now be possible for me to build a new cross-country bicycle much closer to my original 1960s concept than I could achieve before.

The AventuraTT (above) is a one-off working prototype completed right at the end of 2009. TT stands for ‘Twenty Ten’ and this machine has undergone constant testing, development and refinement over the following six years. You can see loads of photos on the Cleland Flickr Photostream, amongst which are some that chart this process.

HeadstockEmblem

T H E   L A N D S E E R

September of 2015 saw the completion of The Landseer, the culmination of four years of intensive research and development, testing and tears. Much of that time was spent in sourcing materials, parts and components that are readily available, as well as refining unique assemblies, to make a production run possible. Further refinements meant that I was not entirely satisfied with whole project until June of 2016. Personally, the result has exceeded all my expectations.

_MG_2822At the same time I finally learnt to be fluent with computer-aided design software. I could now visualise components and put them all together virtually, before embarking on the actual build.

Chainchoobz

The following pages discuss the background of the overall design, some of them look at general aims, others cover one single innovative aspect, sometimes telling the story leading to the logical solutions I’ve come up with.

RingNutz

Nearly every page says something that contradicts what bicycle design experts and very experienced cycling enthusiasts have to say on the matter. I know that experts in any field often have an agenda.


posted by J.B. Weld:

“… though I do find his [Geoff’s] ideas interesting I think the credibility of many of his arguments are somewhat diminished by the constant belittling of other mountain bikes and and their designers.”


_MG_2806

I’ll tell you my agenda; I simply want to share with you what I have done, from which you may derive some benefit, and which would otherwise die with me. What I have done is less important than what you may do with it.

_MG_2797

I’m not really a cycling ‘enthusiast’, even if I do enjoy a bit of pedalling, quite often. I’ve never been athletically fit nor particularly strong; cycling should be regarded as just normal activity and not require any special fitness training regimes.

FrontBrakeOpt

I’m now retired and a pensioner, still intending to quit smoking, with the general aches and pains that come with age. Curiously, these aches and pains diminish when I ride the Landseer, and return when I stop.

8086T6SubFrame

I know what I want for my true cross-country bicycle, and it’s not what I am supposed to want, according to those experts. That I have been building and riding bicycles off-road for more than fifty years may (or may not) have some value.

SteerCon

If, as you continue reading, you find my claims interesting, or even exciting, you should still question them, just in case I am delusional. Think carefully about everything I say, possibly do a little research, and only then, decide for yourself what you want for your ideal cross-country bicycle.


Posted by J. B Weld:

Geoff may have built a great bike for his style of riding but I’m not convinced it’s ideal for the average mountain biker and the conditions they encounter, which are by no means tame as Geoff implies.


FingerFender


Posted by ajantom

I went on the ride expecting to be interested but not convinced by Geoff’s ideas.

I came away with my perceptions entirely changed as to what this type of bike can be and do.


Click here for the next page.

Click here to go to the beginning of the whole story.

About gmacleland

Uncool
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Then in 2009…

  1. Pingback: Genesis… | Cleland > L A N D S E E R

  2. Pingback: The ultimate design… | Cleland > L A N D S E E R

  3. biggs682 says:

    Well that is a different design very upright

    • gmacleland says:

      Indeed, for several very good reasons, reasons explained on other pages, which I hope you have read.
      It would be interesting to read your comments on those pages, whether you agree, or not; and if those reasons are explained adequately.
      Thank you.

Leave a Reply

